



ANNUAL REPORT SCIENTIFIC ACTIVITIES 2001

ISSN 1492-417X

CANADA'S NATIONAL LABORATORY FOR PARTICLE AND NUCLEAR PHYSICS

OPERATED AS A JOINT VENTURE MEMBERS:

THE UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA CARLETON UNIVERSITY SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THE UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA

UNDER A CONTRIBUTION FROM THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL OF CANADA ASSOCIATE MEMBERS: THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA McMASTER UNIVERSITY L'UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY THE UNIVERSITY OF REGINA THE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

OCTOBER 2002

The contributions on individual experiments in this report are outlines intended to demonstrate the extent of scientific activity at TRIUMF during the past year. The outlines are not publications and often contain preliminary results not intended, or not yet ready, for publication. Material from these reports should not be reproduced or quoted without permission from the authors. Appendix C

USERS GROUPS

TRIUMF USERS' GROUP

From the TRIUMF Users' Group Charter:

The TRIUMF Users' Group is an organization of scientists and engineers with special interest in the use of the TRIUMF facility. Its purpose is:

- (a) to provide a formal means for exchange of information relating to the development and use of the facility;
- (b) to advise members of the entire TRIUMF organization of projects and facilities available;
- (c) to provide an entity responsive to the representations of its members for offering advice and counsel to the TRIUMF management on operating policy and facilities.

Membership of the TRIUMF Users' Group (TUG) is open to all scientists and engineers interested in the TRIUMF program. At the end of 2001 the TUG had 265 members from 12 countries.

TRIUMF Users' Executive Committee (TUEC)

The TRIUMF Users' Executive Committee (TUEC) is a committee of elected members whose role is to represent the interests of the TUG to the TRIUMF administration.

Among other things, TUEC maintains the TUG Web site at http://www.triumf.ca/tug/ where detailed information is available about its membership, that of related committees, and various TUG activities.

TUEC Membership for 2001

N. Rodning	U. Alberta	Chair
G.M. Luke	McMaster U.	Chair- $elect$
J.H. Brewer	UBC	Past-chair
R. Helmer	TRIUMF	2000/2001
A.K. Opper	Ohio U.	2000/2001
G.D. Morris	LANL	2001/2002
W.D. Ramsay	U. Manitoba	2001/2002
M. Comyn	TRIUMF	Liaison Officer

W.D. Ramsay (U. Manitoba) was elected as chairelect for 2002. J.E. Sonier (SFU) was elected as a member for 2002; G.S. Hackman (TRIUMF) and M.M. Pavan (U. Regina/TRIUMF) were elected as members for 2002/2003.

In addition, TUEC selected two members to represent the Users on the TRIUMF Operating Committee: G.M. Marshall (TRIUMF) and G.M. Luke (McMaster U.) [replacing E. Mathie (U. Regina)] with alternates S. Yen (TRIUMF) and J.E. Sonier (SFU) [replacing G.M. Luke (McMaster U.)], respectively.

μ SR USERS GROUP

Full details regarding the μ SR Users Group and μ SR facilities can be obtained via the WWW at http://musr.triumf.ca/.