TRIUMF



ANNUAL REPORT SCIENTIFIC ACTIVITIES 2002

ISSN 1492-417X

CANADA'S NATIONAL LABORATORY FOR PARTICLE AND NUCLEAR PHYSICS

OPERATED AS A JOINT VENTURE MEMBERS:

THE UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA
THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA
CARLETON UNIVERSITY
SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY
THE UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA

UNDER A CONTRIBUTION FROM THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL OF CANADA

ASSOCIATE MEMBERS:
THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA
McMASTER UNIVERSITY
L'UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL
QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY
THE UNIVERSITY OF REGINA
THE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

DECEMBER 2003

The contributions on individual experiments in this report are outlines intended to demonstrate the extent of scientific activity at TRIUMF during the past year. The outlines are not publications and often contain preliminary results not intended, or not yet ready, for publication. Material from these reports should not be reproduced or quoted without permission from the authors.

USERS GROUPS

TRIUMF USERS' GROUP

From the TRIUMF Users' Group Charter:

The TRIUMF Users' Group is an organization of scientists and engineers with special interest in the use of the TRIUMF facility. Its purpose is:

- (a) to provide a formal means for exchange of information relating to the development and use of the facility;
- (b) to advise members of the entire TRIUMF organization of projects and facilities available;
- (c) to provide an entity responsive to the representations of its members for offering advice and counsel to the TRIUMF management on operating policy and facilities.

Membership of the TRIUMF Users' Group (TUG) is open to all scientists and engineers interested in the TRIUMF program. At the end of 2002 the TUG had 281 members from 12 countries.

TRIUMF Users' Executive Committee (TUEC)

The TRIUMF Users' Executive Committee (TUEC) is a committee of elected members whose role is to represent the interests of the TUG to the TRIUMF administration.

Among other things, TUEC maintains the TUG Web site at http://www.triumf.ca/tug/ where detailed information is available about its membership, that of related committees, and various TUG activities.

TUEC Membership for 2002

G.M. Luke	McMaster U.	Chair
N. Rodning	U. Alberta	Past Chair
W.D. Ramsay	U. Manitoba	$Chair\ Elect$
G.D. Morris	LANL	2001/2002
J.E. Sonier	SFU	2002
G.S. Hackman	TRIUMF	2002/2003
M.M. Pavan	U. Regina/TRIUMF	2002/2003
M. Comyn	TRIUMF	Liaison Officer

By acclamation, J.E. Sonier (SFU) was elected as chair elect for 2003.

T.A. Porcelli (UNBC) and A. Chen (McMaster U.) were elected as members for 2003/2004.

In addition, TUEC nominated two members to represent the Users on the TRIUMF Operating Committee. In 2002 S. Yen (TRIUMF) moved from being alternate to member, replacing G.M. Marshall (TRIUMF), and L. Lee became his alternate. G.M. Luke (McMaster U.) and J.E. Sonier (SFU) remained as the other member and alternate, respectively.

μ SR USERS GROUP

Full details regarding the μ SR Users Group and μ SR facilities can be obtained via the WWW at http://musr.triumf.ca/.