



# ANNUAL REPORT SCIENTIFIC ACTIVITIES 1997

CANADA'S NATIONAL MESON FACILITY OPERATED AS A JOINT VENTURE BY:

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

UNDER A CONTRIBUTION FROM THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL OF CANADA

ASSOCIATE MEMBERS:

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL UNIVERSITY OF REGINA UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

**APRIL 1998** 

The contributions on individual experiments in this report are outlines intended to demonstrate the extent of scientific activity at TRIUMF during the past year. The outlines are not publications and often contain preliminary results not intended, or not yet ready, for publication. Material from these reports should not be reproduced or quoted without permission from the authors. Appendix C

### USERS GROUPS

#### TRIUMF USERS' GROUP

From the TRIUMF Users' Group Charter:

The TRIUMF Users' Group is an organization of scientists and engineers with special interest in the use of the TRIUMF facility. Its purpose is:

- (a) to provide a formal means for exchange of information relating to the development and use of the facility;
- (b) to advise members of the entire TRIUMF organization of projects and facilities available;
- (c) to provide an entity responsive to the representations of its members for offering advice and counsel to the TRIUMF management on operating policy and facilities.

Membership of the TRIUMF Users' Group is open to all scientists and engineers interested in the TRI-UMF program. In 1997 the TRIUMF Users' Group had 711 members from 236 institutions in 37 countries.

Full details can be obtained via the WWW by going directly to http://www.triumf.ca/triusers/users.html or from the TRIUMF Home Page see TRIUMF Users' Group under the section General on the TRIUMF – Around the Laboratory page.

## TRIUMF Users' Group Executive Committee (TUEC) 1997

M.D. Hasinoff	UBC	Chair
L. Buchmann	TRIUMF	Chair-elect
G. Roy	U. Alberta	Past-chair
J.M. D'Auria	$\mathbf{SFU}$	1996/97
S.R. Kreitzman	TRIUMF	1997/98
E.L. Mathie	U. Regina	1996/97
S. Yen	TRIUMF	1997/98
M. La Brooy	TRIUMF	Liaison Officer

J.M. D'Auria (SFU) was elected as chair elect for 1998.

A. Konaka (TRIUMF) and N. Rodning (U. Alberta) were elected as members for 1998/99.

#### $\mu$ SR USERS GROUP

Full details regarding the  $\mu$ SR Users Group can be obtained via the WWW by going directly to http://www.triumf.ca/msr/musr\_home.html or from the TRIUMF Home Page see TRIUMF muSR under the section Experiments and Collaborations on the TRIUMF – Around the Laboratory page.