TRIUMF



ANNUAL REPORT SCIENTIFIC ACTIVITIES 1998

CANADA'S NATIONAL MESON FACILITY OPERATED AS A JOINT VENTURE BY:

MEMBERS:

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA ASSOCIATE MEMBERS:
UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA
UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO
UNIVERSITY OF REGINA
CARLETON UNIVERSITY
QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY

UNDER A CONTRIBUTION FROM THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL OF CANADA

APRIL 1999

The contributions on individual experiments in this report are outlines intended to demonstrate the extent of scientific activity at TRIUMF during the past year. The outlines are not publications and often contain preliminary results not intended, or not yet ready, for publication. Material from these reports should not be reproduced or quoted without permission from the authors.

USERS GROUPS

TRIUMF USERS' GROUP

From the TRIUMF Users' Group Charter:

The TRIUMF Users' Group is an organization of scientists and engineers with special interest in the use of the TRIUMF facility. Its purpose is:

- (a) to provide a formal means for exchange of information relating to the development and use of the facility;
- (b) to advise members of the entire TRIUMF organization of projects and facilities available;
- (c) to provide an entity responsive to the representations of its members for offering advice and counsel to the TRIUMF management on operating policy and facilities.

Membership of the TRIUMF Users' Group is open to all scientists and engineers interested in the TRI-UMF program. In 1998, following a reconfirmation of membership exercise, the TRIUMF Users' Group had 355 members from 37 countries.

Full details can be obtained via the WWW by going directly to http://www.triumf.ca/triusers/users.html or from the TRIUMF Home Page see the TRIUMF Users Group link under the Around the Laboratory section.

TRIUMF Users' Group Executive Committee (TUEC) 1998

L. Buchmann	TRIUMF	Chair
J.M. D'Auria	SFU	$Chair\mbox{-}elect$
M.D. Hasinoff	UBC	Past- $chair$
S.R. Kreitzman	TRIUMF	1997/98
S. Yen	TRIUMF	1997/98
A. Konaka	TRIUMF	1998/99
N. Rodning	U. Alberta	1998/99
M. La Brooy	TRIUMF	Liaison Officer

- J. Brewer (UBC) was elected as chair elect for 1999.
- G. Marshall (TRIUMF) and B. Turrell (UBC) were elected as members for 1999/2000.

μ SR USERS GROUP

Full details regarding the μ SR Users Group can be obtained via the WWW by going directly to http://www.triumf.ca/msr/musr/musr_home.html or from the TRIUMF Home Page see TRIUMF muSR under the section Experiments and Collaborations on the TRIUMF – Around the Laboratory page.