



ANNUAL REPORT SCIENTIFIC ACTIVITIES 1999

ISSN 1492-417X

CANADA'S NATIONAL LABORATORY FOR PARTICLE AND NUCLEAR PHYSICS

OPERATED AS A JOINT VENTURE MEMBERS:

THE UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THE UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

UNDER A CONTRIBUTION FROM THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL OF CANADA

ASSOCIATE MEMBERS: CARLETON UNIVERSITY THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA L'UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY THE UNIVERSITY OF REGINA THE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

JULY 2000

The contributions on individual experiments in this report are outlines intended to demonstrate the extent of scientific activity at TRIUMF during the past year. The outlines are not publications and often contain preliminary results not intended, or not yet ready, for publication. Material from these reports should not be reproduced or quoted without permission from the authors. Appendix C

USERS GROUPS

TRIUMF USERS' GROUP

From the TRIUMF Users' Group Charter:

The TRIUMF Users' Group is an organization of scientists and engineers with special interest in the use of the TRIUMF facility. Its purpose is:

- (a) to provide a formal means for exchange of information relating to the development and use of the facility;
- (b) to advise members of the entire TRIUMF organization of projects and facilities available;
- (c) to provide an entity responsive to the representations of its members for offering advice and counsel to the TRIUMF management on operating policy and facilities.

Membership of the TRIUMF Users' Group is open to all scientists and engineers interested in the TRI-UMF program. In 1999 the TRIUMF Users' Group had 388 members from 23 countries.

Full details can be obtained via the WWW by going directly to http://www.triumf.ca/tug or from the TRIUMF Home Page see the TRIUMF Users' Group link under the Around the Laboratory section.

TRIUMF Users' Group Executive Committee (TUEC) 1999

J.M. D'Auria	SFU	Chair
J.H. Brewer	UBC	Chair- $elect$
L. Buchmann	TRIUMF	Past-chair
A. Konaka	TRIUMF	1998/1999
N. Rodning	U. Alberta	1998/1999
G. Marshall	TRIUMF	1999/2000
B. Turrell	UBC	1999/2000
M. Comyn	TRIUMF	Liaison Officer

N. Rodning (U. Alberta) was elected as chair-elect for 2000.

R. Helmer (TRIUMF) and A.K. Opper (Ohio U.) were elected as members for 2000/2001.

μ SR USERS GROUP

Full details regarding the μ SR Users Group can be obtained via the WWW by going directly to http://www.triumf.ca/msr/musr/musr_home.html or from the TRIUMF Home Page see TRIUMF muSR under the section Experiments and Collaborations on the TRIUMF – Around the Laboratory page.