You are here

YES Fellowship


The Young Engineers and Scientists (YES!) Fellowship program offers six-week summer research experiences to graduating secondary students in British Columbia entering their first year at a recognized post-secondary institution. The fellowships are located at TRIUMF or at research organizations associated with Life Science British Columbia. The fellowship includes an award of $3,000 and travel and housing allowances to students outside Metro Vancouver (for the TRIUMF placements only). A minimum of three positions at each of TRIUMF and LSBC are offered each year.

The intent of the YES Fellowship is to motivate students with a passionate interest in science and engineering to pursue a career in research by offering them the opportunity to experience a real life laboratory environment. 

CSSE C. Gordon Lindsay Memorial Award

TRIUMF is partnering with the Canadian Society for Senior Engineeers to offer the C. Gordon Lindsay Memorial Award for graduating high school students intending to pursue a career in engineering.Refer to the Program Guidelines for details.

Past Winners

 The past High School (now YES!) Fellowship winners and their projects at TRIUMF are listed on this web page. Check if any were from your school!


Latest News

July 1, 2018:  TRIUMF and LSBC welcome their YES Fellowsh recipients - Nadia Chigmaroff, Duncan McIntryre, Helen Newton (CSSE winner), and Jack Li at TRIUMF ; and Anglea Chang, Michelle Lam, Nick Murray, Nicole Wong, and Zehan Zhou for LSBC.

April 26, 2018: APPLICATION REVIEW to commence shortly. Results expected in a couple of weeks.

April 5, 2018: Deadline has been EXTENDED to April 11, 2018!

February 26, 2018: Registration is NOW OPEN! The application package forms can be found at the bottom of the page. Deadline is April 6, 2018

February 13, 2018: TRIUMF and Life Science British Columbia are happy to announce expansion of the YES Fellowship program to include positions for students interested in pursuing a career in life sciences research.  Details coming soon!

January 22, 2018: The TRIUMF High School Fellowship has been renamed the TRIUMF Young Engineers and Scientists (YES!) Fellowship. Stay tuned for exciting news very soon about even more opportuntiies for graduating high school students this summer.

December 19, 2017:  The Fellowship program will resume in late January 2018, with an exciting new development!  Stay tuned!

Application Process

Completed application packages must be submitted to TRIUMF in electronic format by emailing PDF copies to

The 2018 deadline is Wednesday April 11, 2018

For more information contact:

Guidelines and PDF fillable application forms can be found below. The complete application package includes:

  • Guidelines
  • Student Information Form
  • Reference Form

This site is maintained by TRAC - Last updated March 1, 2018