You are here

Two TRIUMF community members elected fellows of the American Physical Society

28 October 2019

Two members of the TRIUMF community, one current and one alumnus, have been recognized by the American Physical Society for their outstanding contributions to physics.

Dr. Ritu Kanungo, TRIUMF Affiliate Scientist and a professor in the Astronomy and Physics Department at Saint Mary’s University, was recognized for her contributions to the field of isotope science, Kanungo is also the project leader for the CANadian Rare Isotope facility with Electron Beam ion source (CANREB), a critical rare isotope beam facility that will serve TRIUMF’s Advanced Rare Isotope Laboratory (ARIEL).

 "I am deeply honoured to be chosen to receive this prestigious recognition from the American Physical Society, which I would like to share with all my students, post-docs and collaborators,” said Kanungo. “I am immensely thankful to my peers for valuing my contributions. I thank my supervisors and mentors, and our funding agencies, for their support.”

Dr. Sonia Bacca, TRIUMF alumnus and current Professor of Theoretical Physics at the PRISMA+ Cluster of Excellence at Johannes Gutenberg Univ­ersity Mainz (JGU), was recognized for her contributions to theoretical calculations of the electromagnetic properties of atomic nuclei, work that has provided greater insight into the dynamics that govern subatomic structure.

"To be accepted into the circle of APS Fellows is an enormous honour for me, and I am, of course, absolutely delighted," said Bacca. "This represents an affirmation of the quality of my scientific research, the large part of which was performed at TRIUMF."

“We at TRIUMF are very privileged to number these exemplary researchers among our diverse laboratory community, past and present,” said Dr. Jens Dilling, TRIUMF’s Associate Laboratory Director for Physical Sciences. “Both Ritu and Sonia have tremendous track records of scientific achievement, and this APS election is a small representation of the recognition they merit and the inspiration they evoke. Bravo!”

The American Physical Society (APS) is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents over 55,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry. You can read more about Dr. Kanungo’s election here, and Dr. Bacca’s here.

On behalf of the TRIUMF community: Congratulations, Ritu and Sonia!