You are here

TRIUMF Welcomes York University as a New Associate Member

17 April 2008

At a vote held during the TRIUMF Board of Management meeting on Friday, September 12, 2008, York University was admitted unanimously as the newest Associate Member of the TRIUMF Joint Venture.

The inclusion of York University powers TRIUMF toward its goals of remaining a relevant and sustainable member of the wider physics community. The university brings to TRIUMF a strong physics program, blending experimental and theoretical physics in a research-intensive environment.

“TRIUMF has an ambitious vision for its future – and for the future of Canada,” said Feridun Hamdullahpur, Chair of TRIUMF’s board of management and Provost and Vice-President Academic of Carleton. “With York’s participation, I am even more confident that we can make it happen. York brings a great combination of expertise, skills, and proven performance.”

“Membership in the TRIUMF National Laboratory will strengthen Canadian scientific partnerships,” said Michael Siu, York’s associate vice-president research, science & technology. “Through this agreement, York’s scientists, especially physicists, will have the opportunity to lead and participate in large-scale research collaborations with their peers across the country, allowing us to extend and diversify our research efforts in these areas.”

TRIUMF looks forward to a long and successful association with its newest member.

There are seven Full Members of the TRIUMF Joint Venture:

The University of AlbertaThe University of British Columbia
Carleton UniversityL'Université de Montréal
Simon Fraser UniversityThe University of Toronto
The University of Victoria

There are now seven Associate Members of the TRIUMF Joint Venture:

The University of GuelphThe University of Manitoba
McMaster UniversityQueen's University
The University of ReginaSaint Mary's University
York University

For additional information, please see the York University press release.

By Kaitlan Huckabone
TRIUMF's Communications Assistant