You are here

Local High School Student Rises to the Top

News Release | For Immediate Release | April 23, 2004

(Vancouver, BC) -- Reka Moldovan, a local grade twelve student from Kelowna, has been chosen from among ninety-nine applicants from across British Columbia to participate in a six-week summer research term at the TRIUMF laboratory in Vancouver. The award includes $3000 and an opportunity to work with a research team at TRIUMF, Canada's National Laboratory for Particle and Nuclear Physics.

Moldovan is the first recipient of TRIUMF's newly established fellowship. An outstanding student with enthusiasm for science, she plans to enter the University of British Columbia in September and aspires to become an astrophysicist.

The annual fellowship is offered by TRIUMF to a student graduating from a BC secondary school and entering the first undergraduate year within the sciences at a recognized BC post-secondary institution. The intent of the fellowship is to give BC secondary school graduates who have a passionate interest in science the opportunity to experience a real life research environment in order to motivate them to pursue a career in the sciences, especially physics.

The TRIUMF High School Fellowship is administered by the Innovation and Science Council of British Columbia. Application forms and information on the following terms may be obtained by contacting Dawn Wood ( or from the Council Web site ( For information related to TRIUMF, contact Marcello Pavan (

The Innovation and Science Council of British Columbia is an agency of the Government of BC working to create innovative science and technology


TRIUMF is Canada's National Laboratory for Particle and Nuclear Physics. Located on the south campus of the University of British Columbia, TRIUMF is owned and operated as a joint venture by a consortium of the following Canadian universities, via a contribution through the National Research Council Canada: University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, University of Calgary, Carleton University, University of Guelph, University of Manitoba, McMaster University, Université de Montréal, Queen's University, University of Regina, Simon Fraser University, Saint Mary's University, University of Toronto, University of Victoria, York University.


All News Releases