You are here

TRIUMF Welcomes New Member

News Release | For Immediate Release | September 07, 2000

(Vancouver, BC) -- Dr. Colin Jones, Chair of TRIUMF's Board of Management, announced today the admission of Carleton University as a member of TRIUMF's joint venture. Carelton University joins the University of Alberta, the University of British Columbia, the University of Victoria and Simon Fraser University as a full member of the consortium. TRIUMF also counts the University of Manitoba, L'Université de Montréal, the University of Regina, the University of Toronto, and Queen's University as associate members. Today's announcement represents an important move towards full national representation on TRIUMF's Board of Management.

Dr. Jones emphasized TRIUMF's important leadership role and some of its impressive achievements. As Canada's national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics, TRIUMF has a dynamic basic research program and is responsible for Canada's contribution to the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN - the European research laboratory in Geneva, Switzerland. TRIUMF also provides valuable infrastructure for Canadian sub-atomic physics researchers. In addition TRIUMF participates in a small business development program and has an active role in technology transfer, especially in the field of medical diagnosis.

ISAC I, an exotic ion beam facility officially opened by Industry Minister John Manley in April of this year, is one of TRIUMF's impressive achievements. ISAC can provide approximately 7,000 isotopes for experimental study in the areas of nuclear physics, nuclear astrophysics, life sciences, and condensed matter research. ISAC II, designed to take ions to higher energies, will be the next step in TRIUMF's research program. When completed, ISAC II will position Canada as a world leader in this field.

Today's announcement follows upon the recent announcement by Industry Minister John Manley of funding $200 million for TRIUMF for the period 2000 - 2005. TRIUMF has requested $8 million from the BC provincial government to assist in the construction of a building to house ISAC II.

Speaking of the laboratory's future, Dr. Jones said "the laboratory will move forward vigorously with a dynamic program which will build on its past successes and the excellent leadership of TRIUMF's director, Dr. Alan Astbury, and the strong contribution of the laboratory's staff will ensure that TRIUMF will be a world leader in nuclear and particle physics."



TRIUMF is Canada's National Laboratory for Particle and Nuclear Physics. Located on the south campus of the University of British Columbia, TRIUMF is owned and operated as a joint venture by a consortium of the following Canadian universities, via a contribution through the National Research Council Canada: University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, University of Calgary, Carleton University, University of Guelph, University of Manitoba, McMaster University, Université de Montréal, Queen's University, University of Regina, Simon Fraser University, Saint Mary's University, University of Toronto, University of Victoria, York University.


All News Releases