You are here


TRIUMF INC. is owned by a consortium of Canadian universities. TRIUMF is a registered charity and a not-for-profit corporation incorporated under the laws of Canada.

TRIUMF's Governance Structure

The By-laws of TRIUMF INC. establish certain core elements of its governance framework. That framework includes: 

  1. A Members’ Council – composed of one representative from each Member University;
  2. A Science Council – an advisory body composed of (a) one appointee from each Member University, (b) up to five (5) members of TRIUMF’s staff, and (c) up to five (5) individuals appointed by the Members’ Council from other institutions whose participation in TRIUMF has been approved by the Members’ Council;
  3. A Board of Governors

A full list of the Science Council, Members' Council, and Board of Governors appointments are available here

Updated April 17, 2023: TRIUMF is currently welcoming new membership applications as part of a rolling, continuous call for new members. Learn more about becoming a TRIUMF member institution here: TRIUMF Membership

The TRIUMF Board of Governors is responsible for managing or supervising the management of the activities and affairs of TRIUMF and is accountable to the Members’ Council. The Board is elected by the Members’ Council and composed of no more than eleven (11) Governors.

The Board of Governors meets quarterly, as do its standing committees.

Under the By-laws, the principal responsibilities of the Board include recommending the following for approval by the Member’s Council:

      • the Annual Budget, and any amendment thereto;
      • the Annual Report, and any amendment thereto;
      • the Five-Year Plan, and any amendment thereto;
      • the NRC Contribution Agreement, and any amendment thereto;
      • any funding arrangement (excluding borrowing arrangements) that contemplates funding in excess of $5 million annually, and that is not contemplated in the Five-Year Plan, and any amendment thereto;
      • any application for membership in TRIUMF;
      • the adoption, amendment or repeal of any Terms of Reference, including for greater certainty, Terms of Reference governing the Members’ Council, the Science Council, the Board, and any and all committees of TRIUMF;
      • the terms governing the participation of one or more institutions or other persons, who are not Member Universities, in the activities and affairs of TRIUMF, which may include the right to receive notice of, and to attend, but not vote at, meetings of the Members’ Council 

The duties of the Board include:

      • Setting the strategic direction for TRIUMF, and overseeing the development and implementation of the Five-Year Plans that are supported by the laboratory’s Contribution Agreements with the National Research Council
      • Ensuring that an effective management team is in place, including appointing TRIUMF’s Director and CEO
      • Confirming that major organizational risks are mitigated
      • Maintaining fiscal responsibility, and approving and monitoring annual budgets
      • Sustaining strong partnerships and communications with the various stakeholders that comprise the TRIUMF community and external parties
      • Appointing Associate Members of TRIUMF, as well as members of the various Board Committees including Audit, Finance, Personnel and Administration, Safety and Security and Governance

External Committees 

Advisory Committee on TRIUMF (ACOT)

The Advisory Committee on TRIUMF advises the National Research Council on all aspects of TRIUMF.

Agency Committee on TRIUMF (ACT)

The role of the Agency Committee on TRIUMF is to oversee the Government of Canada's investment in TRIUMF and the economic benefits derived from that investment, with a with a focus on management, financial, and commercialization matters. The Committee provides advice to elected officials and to the National Research Council on matters related to TRIUMF. The Committee  meets on an as-needed basis, and other federal organizations with an interest in TRIUMF may be invited to participate as required. 

Experimental Evaluation Committees

The Experimental Evaluation Committee's review and approve new and ongoing experiments.

  • LSPEC (meets annually)
  • MMS-EEC (meets biannually)
  • NP-EEC (meets biannually)
  • PP-EEC (meets annually)