You are here

Doug Bryman awarded 2024 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal

15 April 2024

This year’s CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal has been awarded to Professor Doug Bryman. Professor Bryman holds the J. B. Warren Chair and is a Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of British Columbia and is an Affiliate Scientist at TRIUMF.

Professor Bryman’s research focuses on the study of rare particle decays and he has been a spokespersonfor several experiments at TRIUMF and Brookhaven National Laboratory. He has also been involved in advanced radiation detector instrumentation development for high energy physics and applied physics, for which he has received several patents. 

In 2011, Professor Bryman was co-recipient of the W. K. H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics from the American Physical Society. He is a Fellow of the APS and was a Fellow of the Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science. He has served on on numerous editorial boards and international laboratory and agency advisory panels. 

The Vogt Medal is awarded each year in honour of the late Dr. Erich T. Vogt, who was an esteemed nuclear physicist, a pioneering founder of TRIUMF, and a valued member of the broader physics community around the world. In his many roles in the Canadian physics community, including as TRIUMF Director (1981-1994) and as President of the Canadian Association of Physicists (1970-71), Vogt worked tirelessly to establish Canadian leadership and excellence in physics, particularly nuclear physics. The Vogt Medal seeks to honour and memorialize his legacy and recognize the profound and indelible impact Vogt had on an entire generation of scientists in Canada and around the world.

When asked about the award, Professor Bryman had this to say: “The CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal is especially meaningful to me because of my close associations with TRIUMF and with Erich Vogt, who was always an encouraging supporter and mentor.  I have been extremely fortunate to have collaborated with highly talented and committed colleagues, postdocs, students, technical professionals, and staff at TRIUMF, the University of British Columbia, and other institutions.  I thank the Canadian Association of Physicists for the honour of this award.”

Congratulations Doug!