You are here

Perimeter Institute researcher Dr. Asimina Arvanitaki awarded 2022 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal

22 December 2022

(image credit: Perimeter)

Dr. Asimina Arvanitaki, Perimeter Institute faculty member and theoretical physicist, has been awarded 2022 CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal.

The award recognizes Arvanitaki's many achievements and contributions to the field of subatomic physics, which include exploring novel and experimental methodologies for tackling challenges in theoretical physics. 

"Asimina is a tremendously talented researcher, and her contributions have truly left a mark on the field of subatomic physics," said TRIUMF Director Nigel Smith. "We are honoured to present her with the CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal in recognition of her many achievements and her leadership within our community."

The Vogt Medal is awarded each year in honour of the late Dr. Erich T. Vogt, who was an esteemed nuclear physicist, a pioneering founder of TRIUMF, and a valued member of the broader physics community around the world. In his many roles in the Canadian physics community, including as TRIUMF Director (1981-1994) and as President of the Canadian Association of Physicists (1970-71), Vogt worked tirelessly to establish Canadian leadership and excellence in physics, particularly nuclear physics. The Vogt Medal seeks to honour and memorialize his legacy and recognize the profound and indelible impact Vogt had on an entire generation of scientists in Canada and around the world.

Read more in the Perimeter Institute story here.

Congratulations, Asimina!